Réception for Handicap International

On December 3rd, 2012, the Embassy of France took part in celebrating the 15th anniversary of the Ottawa Treaty banning anti-personnel mines [1] (signed December 3rd, 1997) and the 30th anniversary of the founding of Handicap International (created in 1982).


Ambassador Philippe Zeller organized a lunchtime reception where special guests included Dr. Jean-Baptiste Richardier, Executive Director and co-founder of Handicap International, and the Honourable Lloyd Axworthy, Canadian Minister for Foreign Affairs when the Ottawa Treaty was signed and the current President of the University of Winnipeg.

In 1997, Handicap International and five other organizations were jointly awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for their contributions to the International Campaign to Ban Landmines.

For more information:


[1Convention on the Prohibition of the Use, Stockpiling, Production and Transfer of Anti-Personnel Mines and on their Destruction.

Last modified on 04/12/2012

top of the page