L’Oreal-UNESCO for Women and Science Awards 2014

The 12th annual L’Oréal Canada-UNESCO for Women and Science Awards ceremony took place at the Embassy of France on November 25th, 2014. This event was an opportunity to meet the new CEO of L’Oréal Canada, Mr. Frank Kollmar, as well as this year’s award-winners. This prestigious award is one example of national projects taking place in more than fifty countries. More than 45 women in scientific fields in Canada have received this award to date. These awards do not simply recognize the exceptional work of young women in science who are passionate about their research; they also encourage women in science to expand the frontiers of their respective disciplines.


This year’s event was preceded by a panel discussion on the subject of “Women in Science: Still a challenge?” involving the 2014 winners.

Madiha Khan, this year’s L’Oréal /France-Canada Research Fund Award, is a Post-Doctoral Research Associate at Carleton University’s Department of Biology.

Two other winners received awards for excellence in research: Brandy Callahan, a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Program in Neurosciences and Mental Health at the Centre de recherché de l’Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec; and Vanessa D’Costa, a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Hospital for Sick Children’s Program in Cell Biology, in Toronto.

The ceremony was also an opportunity to hear a presentation by the 2014 L’Oréal-UNESCO Europe award winner, Ms. Brigitte Kieffer, who recently took a management position at the Douglas Mental Health University Institute, in Montreal.

The new president of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), Mario Pinto, announced the creation of the L’Oréal-UNESCO-NSERC Award for women in post-doctoral science programs. This program will begin in 2015.

Last modified on 23/01/2015

top of the page